Fort Dalles Museum and Anderson Homestead
 
Home
Fort Dalles History
Anderson Homestead history
Foundation
Education Outreach
Preservation
Membership
Weddings
Photo Gallery
Gift Shop
Comments
Contact Information
Links
 

The Dalles, Oregon

The end of the overland Oregon Trail

Visit the other historical sites and organizations in The Dalles.

Fort Dalles Days and Rodeo - July 14-17, 2011
Fort Dalles Rough & Wild Rodeo July 14-16

http://www.historicthedalles.org
http://www.thefortdallesrodeo.com
http://wwww.thedalleschamber.com
Wasco County Historical Society
Rorick House


The oldest home in The Dalles was built by an officer stationed at Fort Dalles in 1850, and operates today as historical museum. From Memorial Day through Labor Day, the Rorick House welcomes guests Fridays through Sundays, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Public tours.

Location: 300 West 13th St.,
The Dalles, OR 97058.
Phone: 541-296-1867
http://www.wascochs.org

Original Wasco County Courthouse

The original Wasco County Courthouse was completed in 1859 and was first located at the intersection of  East 3rd and Court Street. The building has been moved many times and today it stands at 410 West 2nd Place completely restored.

Location: 410 West Second Place (behind the Chamber of Commerce Visitor's Center)
The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone: (541) 296-4798

http://www.wascochs.org/wcch.htm

The Dalles Civic Auditorium

The Civic Auditorium was built in the early 1920's and served the community well for many years. It has suffered the ravages of time until its reconstruction in 1998. This grand old building will continue to serve the community for many more years.

Mailing Address: PO Box 1102
Location: 323 East Fourth Street
The Dalles, OR 97058
(541) 298-8533

http://thedallescivic.org

The Dalles Dam - U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Not a museum but surely worth a visit. In 1957, the completion of the dam at The Dalles created Lake Celilo. The pool of water behind the dam stretches 24 miles upstream to the John Day Dam. On March 11, 1957, as the waters backed up behind the dam they inundated Celilo Falls, where Northwest Indian tribes had fished in the manner of their ancestors for over 10,000 years. The hydro-electric generating capacity is 1.8 million kilowatts and can light up two cities the size of Portland, OR.

The Dalles Dam Visitor Center, located at Seufert Park on the Oregon shore, was named for the Seufert family, operators of a nearby fish cannery from the late 1800's until The Dalles Dam was built. Seufert Park is operated by the Corps of Engineers and is located off exit 87 from Interstate 84.


http:www.nwp.usace.army.mil/op/d

Old St. Peters Landmark

The church building was built in 1897 and was used until 1969, as a larger church building was needed. The building, one of the finest Gothic Revival structures in The Dalles, has been renovated and is open the to the public as a museum and a wedding chapel.

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 882
Location: 3rd & Lincoln Streets, The Dalles.
541-296-5686
Email: rooster1898@earthlink.net
http://www.oldstpeterslandmark.org

The Dalles Art Association

The Art Center was built in 1910 with a donation of $10,000 from Andrew Carnegie for use as a library. This building is one of the 2,509 libraries funded by Andrew Carnegie. The building has been occupied since 1966 by The Dalles Art Association and is used an art gallery.

Location: 220 East 4th St.,
The Dalles, OR 97058
Phone: 541-296-4759
H ours (11am – 5PM, Tuesday – Saturday)
http://www.thedallesartcenter.org 

Columbia Gorge Discovery Center and Wasco County Historical Museum

Explore the Columbia River Gorge from its beginnings 40 million years ago until today. Discover the rich history of the area by viewing the exhibits in the museum. See the splendor of our area at the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center and Wasco County Historical Museum.

Location: 5000 Discovery Dr.
The Dalles, OR 97058
Voice: 541-296-8600
Fax: 541-298-8660

http://gorgediscovery.org

The Dalles Mural Society

Famous moments in history magnificently illustrated by renown northwest artists are located through out The Dalles. A cultural and educational experience for all ages. Walk through downtown The Dalles to see most of these spectacular pieces of wall art. Maps can be found at The Dalles Chamber of Commerce.

http://muralsatthedalles.netcnct.net/

Wasco County Pioneer Association

Not a place to visit, but a treasure trove of history in the form of a vast photograph collection. The Wasco County Pioneer Association owns thousands of photos taken since the invention of the camera, and once a year on the first Saturday in May, this rich repository of photos is brought out for display at the Pioneers' annual meeting.

http://www.wascopioneers.org/
The Dalles Chamber of Commerce

Visitors to The Dalles can stop to pick up maps, brochures of local services and opportunities for site-seeing. The friendly staff will be happy to help you.

315 Federal St., The Dalles OR
1-800-255-3385/541-296-2231
http://thedalleschamber.com
   



Visit us at Oregon's oldest history museum
Fort Dalles Museum and the Anderson Homestead
500 W. 15th Street and Garrison
The Dalles, Oregon 97058
Phone: 541-296-4547
fortdallesmuseum@gmail.com

 
 
 

Thanks for visiting the official website of:
Fort Dalles Museum and the Anderson Homestead
500 W. 15th Street and Garrison
The Dalles, Oregon 97058
Phone: 541-296-4547
http://www.fortdallesmuseum.org
Email us at:
fortdallesmuseum@gmail.com

 
This site designed and maintained by
Thunderbolt Designs
THUNDERBOLT DESIGNS
Copyright © 2010
A2ZGorge.Info

Contact the Webmaster